..:Peek at Guest Book:..
..:View Me� ..:Sign Me

2003-06-16 l 5:06 p.m.
Buddhist Wisdom - 16 June 2003

Buddhist Wisdom

My Mind Is Still

"You tell me to stand still, but I am not walking," he shouted, "whereas you who are walking say you are still. How is it that you are standing still but I am not?"

The Buddha turned round. "My legs move but my mind is still," he said. "Your legs are still but your mind moves all the time in a fire of anger, hatred, and feverish desire. Therefore, I am still but you are not."

-Majjhima Nikaya



Surrender Merit-Seeking

We should surrender our intention to selfishly seek merit and recognition for our merit, and instead simply plant merit and cultivate wisdom.

-Jae Woong Kim, "Polishing the Diamond"



Away With Your Dualism

Nothing is born, nothing is destroyed. Away with your dualism, your likes and dislikes. Every single thing is just the One Mind. When you have perceived this, you will have mounted the Chariot of the Buddhas.

-Huang Po, "Zen Teaching of Huang Po"



Your Own True Welfare

Don't sacrifice your own welfare
for that of another,
no matter how great.
Realizing your own true welfare,
be intent on just that.

-Dhammapada 166, translated by Thanissaro Bhikkhu



Do the Work Yourself

You should do the work yourself, for buddhas only teach the way.

-Dhammapada



A Rusty Gutter

One day as I was meditating, I saw a rusty gutter, and I suddenly felt sad and sorry that it was going bad and rusty. I experienced that life was impermanent. I learned Dharma from that gutter.

-Mae Chi Boonliang, "Women's Buddhism, Buddhism's Women"



Many Parts

Due to having many parts there is no unity,
There is not anything without parts.
Further, without one, there is not many.
Also, without existence there is no non-existence.

-Nagarjuna, "Precious Garland 71"



Follow the Dhamma

If he recites next to nothing
but follows the Dhamma
in line with the Dhamma;
abandoning passion,
aversion, delusion;
alert,
his mind well-released,
not clinging
either here or hereafter:
he has his share in the contemplative life.

-Dhammapada 19-20, translated by Thanissaro Bhikkhu



�...Contact Me...� ...Previous...� ...Next...


Broken Weather - 2003-11-13
The Illusion of Time - 2003-11-11
On Anger, Giving and Patience - 2003-08-31
No More Updates - 2003-08-06
When Alone or In a Crowd - 2003-07-18