..:Peek at Guest Book:..
..:View Me� ..:Sign Me

2003-07-18 l 4:04 a.m.
When Alone or In a Crowd

If happiness hasn't been recognized when alone, a group of people will be a cause of distraction.
~Adept Godrakpa, "Hermit of Go Cliffs"

When I first read that statement, I remembered something my Reiki Master once told me. She said, "when you are content with yourself, you will be content no matter where you are and no matter how many people surround you." She knew all to well my anti-social tendencies and what a difficult time I have being around too many people. The quote above, however, also reminds me that happiness can never be found with anyone but self. No one can make us happy if within there is loathing and hatred for oneself. We must embrace ourselves and learn to love ourselves wholly and find true happiness in our own company.



I am learning to be more relaxed when I am in bigger crowds of people. For me, this is a major undertaking because I tend to have panic attacks when around too many people all at once. I have learned to breathe slowly, controlled with a purpose. I turn within to a quiet place in my mind and there I sit, lotus-style on a velvet cushion, incense burning around me, candles lit, peacefully meditating in silence. I have practiced this visualization so much of late, that at a moment's notice I can go there, and still maintain composure and do what I am doing in the mundane world.



�...Contact Me...� ...Previous...� ...Next...


Broken Weather - 2003-11-13
The Illusion of Time - 2003-11-11
On Anger, Giving and Patience - 2003-08-31
No More Updates - 2003-08-06
When Alone or In a Crowd - 2003-07-18